Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Mar 26, 2021

Why Niger Postponed Basic, Secondary Schools Resumption to January 25

The commissioner said the adjustment in the resumption date for academic activities in the state was due to the COVID-19 pandemic being monitored by government at the national and local levels, and to guarantee the safety of school managers, teachers and learners.

Learn more »

Jan 11, 2021

New measures for the organization of the baccalaureate

The Niger government has just announced new measures and reforms in the organization of the 2021 baccalaureate exam session.

Learn more »


There are 2 archived country studies available. Log in to view them.



The République du Niger (Republic of Niger) is a landlocked country in western Africa and is bordered by Algeria, Libya, Chad, Nigeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, and Mali. The population is 13,272,679 and the literacy rate is 28.7%. It is one of the poorest and least developed countries in the world. It is also one hottest countries in the world with 80% of the country part of the Sahara Desert. French is the official language with Hausa and Djerma widely spoken.

Civilization in the area of present-day Niger can be traced back to 10,000 BC when the area was a fertile grassland. The Tuareg and Hausa tribes settled in the area in the 17th and 18th centuries. The first European explorers arrived in the 18th century. In 1922, it became a French colony that was administered from Senegal. On August 3, 1960, it gained independence from France.


Education is free and compulsory for 6 years beginning at age 6, but the average time spent in school is 4 years.

Primary Education

L'École primaire (Primary school) is 6 years beginning at age 6. Upon completion, students are awarded a Certificat de Fin d'Études du Premier Degré (CFEPD).

Secondary Education

Collège (lower secondary school) is 4 years, and, upon completion, students are awarded a Diplôme de Fin d'Études de Base (DFEB) or a Brevet d'Études du Premier Cycle (BEPC). Lycée (upper secondary school) is 3 years and, depending on the program study, students sit for an external examination that leads to the Baccalauréat or the Baccalauréat Technique. Students who have completed all 3 years of upper secondary school but who do not pass a Baccalauréat examination are awarded a Diplôme de Fin d'Études Nigeriens (DFEN).

Post-Secondary Education

First-Cycle, Academic

First-level university studies are 2 years and require a Baccalauréat or a Baccalauréat Technique for admission. Studies in the arts and humanities lead to the Diplôme Universitaire d'Études Littéraires (DUEL); scientific studies lead to the Diplôme Universitaire d'Études Scientifiques (DUES), economics studies lead to the Diplôme Universitaire d'Études Économiques Générales (DUEEG), and general university studies lead to the Diplôme Universitaire d'Études Générale (DEUG).

First Cycle, Vocational/Techmical

Post-secondary vocational/technical studies are offered at various centers and institutes. Programs are 2-3 years long and lead to the Diplôme de Technicien Supérieur.

Second Cycle

Second-level university studies are 2 years. The Licence is awarded after the first year and the Maîtrise is awarded after the second year.

Third Cycle

Third-level university studies require a Maîtrise for admission. The Diplôme d'Études Supérieures Spécialisées (DESS) is awarded after 1 year of study and an internship. The Diplôme d'Études Approfondies (DEA) is awarded after 1 - 2 years of graduate study.

Doctoral studies are 3 - 5 years, depending on the diploma awarded. The Doctorat de 3ème Cycle is awarded after no more than 3 years of study and a defense of dissertation. After the first year of study, students are awarded a Diplôme d'Études Approfondies (DEA). The Doctorat d'État is awarded after 5 years of doctoral study and defense of a dissertation. This diploma is rarely awarded in fields other than in the sciences.

Teacher Training

Primary school teachers are trained at écoles normales in a 3-year program leading to the Diplôme de Fin d'Études Normales (DFEN). The Brevet d'Études du Premier Cycle (BEPC) or the Baccalauréat are required for admission.

Lower secondary school teachers are trained in a one-year program at an école normale supérieure which requires a Diplôme Universitaire d'Études Générale (DEUG) and an entrance examination for admission. Upon completion of the program, students are awarded a Diplôme d'Aptitude Professionnelle au Professorat des Collèges d'Enseignement Général (DAP/CEG). Upper secondary school teachers are trained in a one-year program that requires a Maîtrise and an entrance examination for admission. Upon completion, students are awarded a Certificat d'Aptitude Professionnelle à l'Enseignement Secondaire (CAPES).



Upcoming AACRAO Events

Crises as Catalysts for Transformation

Fall 2020 | virtual conference

Join us this fall for a virtual Strategic Enrollment Management Conference - Crises as Catalysts for Transformation: 2020’s Impact on Higher Education and Enrollment.

This three day, virtual conference will feature models for adapting to change, meeting challenges, and planning strategically post-pandemic.

Explore the SEM Conference
SEM_2020_1440x400 update

106th AACRAO Annual Meeting

March 28 - 31, 2021 | National Harbor, MD

AACRAO’s Annual Meeting is our largest convening of higher education professionals from around the world. Join more than 2,000 administrators in person or online as we work to address the issues facing today’s campuses, share goals and guidelines for meeting those challenges, and provide a forum for learning and sharing experiences.

Explore the Annual Meeting