Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Faroe Islands


The Faroe Islands were originally inhabited by Vikings and settlers from Norway. In 1380, as part of a union between Denmark, Norway and Sweden the Faroe Islands over the years came under the increasing control of Denmark. When the union was dissolved in 1814, Denmark assumed complete control of the Faroe Islands. This condition continued until 1948 when the islands became an autonomous province of Denmark. They are located in Northern Europe between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean. The population of the island is approximately 48,856 with no known literacy rate but it is assumed to be the same as Denmark at 99%. The official languages are Danish and Faroese (descended from Old Norse).

The educational system of The Faroe Islands follows that of Denmark, of which the province is still a part.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

Crises as Catalysts for Transformation

Fall 2020 | virtual conference

Join us this fall for a virtual Strategic Enrollment Management Conference - Crises as Catalysts for Transformation: 2020’s Impact on Higher Education and Enrollment.

This three day, virtual conference will feature models for adapting to change, meeting challenges, and planning strategically post-pandemic.

Explore the SEM Conference
SEM_2020_1440x400 update

106th AACRAO Annual Meeting

March 28 - 31, 2021 | National Harbor, MD

AACRAO’s Annual Meeting is our largest convening of higher education professionals from around the world. Join more than 2,000 administrators in person or online as we work to address the issues facing today’s campuses, share goals and guidelines for meeting those challenges, and provide a forum for learning and sharing experiences.

Explore the Annual Meeting