Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Sep 15, 2022

Mixed reactions following release of CXC exam results

The results for the Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination, CAPE; Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate, CSEC; and Caribbean Certificate of Secondary Level Competence, CCSLC, were made available to candidates. There are mixed reactions from some high school teachers and students, following the release of this year’s May/June, Caribbean Examinations Council, (CXC) results.

Learn more »

Oct 7, 2021

Update on the Release of Results for the CXC June/July 2021 Regional Examinations

CXC® wishes to remind its stakeholders that results for the June/July 2021 examinations will be released in early to mid-October.

Learn more »

Jul 15, 2021

Caribbean Examinations Council Launches Strategic Plan For 2021 – 2025

The new strategic plan was developed to direct CXC’s transformation for greater regional impact. The organisation’s strategic management approach will ensure that the Council is repositioned as a digitally transformed enterprise providing quality, relevant and globally recognised educational services.

Learn more »

Jun 28, 2021

Caribbean Examinations Council decisions for 2021 Regional Examinations Strategy

The Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC®) has engaged with regional governments and other key stakeholders from across the region on the conception and planning of the 2021 regional examinations and registers its appreciation for their enriching contributions.

Learn more »

Jun 10, 2021

CSEC, CAPE exams delayed another two weeks

The Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC), Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE), and Caribbean Certificate of Secondary Level Competence (CCSLC) examinations which were scheduled to commence on June 15, were pushed back to Thursday, June 28.

Learn more »

Apr 24, 2020

CXC Temporarily Suspends Certificate And Transcript Orders

CXC stopped accepting new orders for transcripts and certificates for an indefinite amount of time as a result of COVID-19.

Learn more »



The Commonwealth of Dominica is an island located between the Caribbean Sea and North Atlantic Ocean. The population is 72,386 and the literacy rate is 94%. English is the official language, but a French patois is also widely-spoken. Most Dominicans are descendants of slaves brought to the island in the 17th century. 3,000 Carib Indians still live on Dominica and are the only population remaining in the Caribbean that are pre-Columbian.

Arawak Indians were the first inhabitants of the island until they were expelled by the Caribs in the 14th century. Christopher Columbus landed on the island in November 1593. Dominica was the last Caribbean island to be colonized by Europeans due to fierce resistance by the Caribs. In 1635, it was claimed by France and, in 1763, became a British possession as a result of the Treaty of Paris.

In 1805, Dominica became a British colony. In the 19th century, it was the first and only British Caribbean island to have a Black-controlled legislature. In 1871, it became part of the Leeward Island Federation and, in 1958, joined the West Indies Federation. In 1967, the West Indies Federation was dissolved, and Dominica became an associated state of the United Kingdom. Dominica gained independence from the United Kingdom on November 3, 1978.


Primary and Secondary Education

Education in Dominica is overseen by their Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development and is free and compulsory from ages 6 to 15. Primary school begins at age 6 and is 6 years long. Secondary school lasts 5 years and, upon completion, students sit for the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) Secondary Education Certificate examination or the General Certificate of Education Ordinary Level (GCE O-Levels) examination. Students have the option of continuing on to upper secondary for 2 years to prepare for the General Certificate of Education Advanced (GCE A-Levels) examination.

Post-Secondary Education

The only post-secondary institution on the island of Dominica is Dominica State College which was established in 2002 with the merger of Clifton Dupigny Community College, Dominica Teachers Training College, and the Princess Margaret Hospital School of Nursing into one institution. Dominica State College offers 1-year certificate programs and 2-year associate's program. The University of West Indies' School of Continuing Studies offers first-year programs on the island.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

On-Demand Learning

Self-Paced | Online

Self-paced courses aligned with our competency and proficiency framework, AACRAO's on-demand training will build your skills and enhance your resume. 

Courses in:

  • Compliance
  • International
  • and more

Learn More

SEM_2020_1440x400 update

The International Institute

The AACRAO International Institute covers promising practices for the evaluation of international credentials that combines AACRAO’s On-Demand International Series with five, two-hour, virtual instructor-led training sessions.

Learn More
AACRAO International Institute Banner