Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Nov 17, 2023

In Borneo, GCE ‘O’ Level, IGCSE results out

The difference in average GCSE English and maths results between poorer and richer pupils – the so-called “attainment gap” – is the largest in England in over a decade, according to a recent government analysis.

Learn more »

Mar 7, 2023

MOE Nadiem Calls the Indonesian Language Proficiency Test Equivalent to IELTS or TOEFL

Minister of Education, Culture, Research and Technology Nadiem Anwar Makarim said the Independent Adaptive Indonesian Language Proficiency Test (UKBI) organized by the Language Development and Development Agency or Language Agency is equivalent to various other language proficiency tests such as IELTS or TOEFL.

Learn more »

Oct 25, 2022

Indonesia's 2022 National Assessment Schedule

Since 2021, the Minister of Education, Culture, Research and Technology (Mendikbudristek) Nadiem Makarim has officially replaced the National Examination (UN) into the National Assessment (AN). The 2022 Computer-Based National Assessment (ANBK) will start from September to November 2022.

Learn more »

Jul 14, 2022

When will Indonesia's UTBK Waves I and II be held?

The 2022 Computer-Based Written Examination for State University Admission (UTBK SBMPTN) will proceed. The participants for the 2022 UTBK SBMPTN are certainly more than the new admissions for the 2022 SNMPTN pathway.

Learn more »

Dec 23, 2021

2021 Indonesia National Assessment Schedule for Elementary, Middle School, High School-Vocational Schools

The 2021 National Assessment (AN) to replace the National Examination will begin in November 2021. The Ministry of Education, Culture, Research and Technology (Kemendikbud Ristek) said that the 2021 AN will be carried out in educational units in areas that are allowed to carry out limited face-to-face learning based on government regulations and with strict health protocols.

Learn more »


There are 2 archived country studies available. Log in to view them.



Indonesia is an archipelago located in Southeastern Asia, between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean. It consists of 17,508 islands (only 6,000 of which are inhabited) and a population of 253 million (fourth highest in the world behind the US, India and China). The Dutch began to colonize Indonesia in the early 17th century, and it was occupied from 1942-1945 by Japan. Indonesia gained independence from the Netherlands in 1949. More than 600 languages are spoken in this country which spans three time zones. Most common are Bahasa Indonesia (official, modified form of Malay), English, Dutch, and local dialects, the most widely spoken being Javanese. The largest Muslim country in the world, Indonesia has an 87% Muslim majority with 7% Protestant, 3% Roman Catholic, 2% Hindu and 1% animist.


Education in Indonesia is overseen by both the Kementerian Pendidikan dan Kebudayaan as well as the Kementerian Riset, Teknologi, dan Pendidikan Tinggi Republik Indonesia.

Primary Education

Sekola Dasar represents the attainment of 6 years of primary education, usually completed between ages 6-12.

Secondary Education

Lower Secondary Education is three years in length, lasting ages 12-15. The Surat Tanda Tamat Belajar Sekolah Lanjutan Tingkat Pertama (SLTP/SMP) is awarded after 3 years of lower secondary education.

Upper Secondary Education is three years in length (ages 15-18). The Surat Tanda Tamat Belajar Sekolah Sekolah Menegah Unum is awarded by the Sekolah Menegah Unum (general academic secondary school) after 12 years of education.

The Surat Tanda Tamat Belajaris awarded by Sekohal Menengah Kejuran (vocational secondary school) after 12 years of education, the final three years of which are career-oriented. Commercial and religious tracks are also available at the upper secondary level.

Post-Secondary Education

Higher Education is provided by several types of institutions: Universities, polytechnics, institutes and academies.

There are numerous post-secondary credentials available that are awarded short of the 4-year Sarjana. These include Diploma I, II, III and IV, which are awarded after 1-4 years of undergraduate education, usually in technical subjects, such as computer or engineering technology, or paraprofessional level studies in fields such as business, secretarial studies, tourism, and foreign languages.

Until 1992, following a Diploma II, teachers could earn Akta II for primary or lower secondary teachers, Akta III for lower or upper secondary teachers, or Akta IV for upper secondary teachers. These programs, which were half theory and half practice, were replaced by the Sarjana Pendidikan in 1993. Similarly, the former degree of Insinyur (Engineer) was replaced by the Sarjana Teknik (ST) beginning in 1991.

Public institutions are recognized by the Badan Akreditasi Nasional Perguruan Tinggi (BAN-PT) with oversight for these HEIs provided by Kementerian Riset, Teknologi, dan Pendidikan Tinggi Republik Indonesia; graduates have no trouble securing employment and access to further education. The ministry also has a three-tiered recognition system for private institutions:

  1. Degrees from disamakan ("equalized") institutions are considered equivalent to degrees conferred by public institutions
  2. Institutions which are categorized as diakul ("recognized") institutions are authorized to grant degrees, but that the degrees are not equivalent to those awarded by public institutions. However, graduates of "recognized" institutions may take a state examination to "equalize" their degrees to the level of those offered by state institutions. If the state examination is passed, the Coordinator of (Private) Higher Education (Koordinator Perguruan Tingii, or KOPERTI) will award a diploma which verifies that the student's degree is equivalent to a degree awarded by a state (public) institution.
  3. Finally, tedaftar ("listed") institutions' degrees are not considered equivalent to degrees from public institutions, but students can take the state examination just as graduates of "recognized" institutions can. But, given that more subjects are tested for "listed" than "recognized" graduates, few "recognized" graduates choose to sit for the state examinations.

Most degrees will look familiar to those acquainted with the US system of education, as follows:

  • Stage 1 (undergraduate): The Sarjana (S1) degree is awarded after completing four years of study.
  • Stage 2 (graduate/masters level): The Magister (S2) is awarded after two more years of study.
  • Stage 3 (graduate/doctoral level): The Doktor (S3) requires additional coursework after the Magister and the writing of a dissertation.
Credits Needed to Graduate
Sarjana 1 (Sarjana Satu)144 — 1608
Sarjana 2 (Magister)180 — 19412
Sarjana 3 (Doktor)23016



Upcoming AACRAO Events

On-Demand Learning

Self-Paced | Online

Self-paced courses aligned with our competency and proficiency framework, AACRAO's on-demand training will build your skills and enhance your resume. 

Courses in:

  • Compliance
  • International
  • and more

Learn More

SEM_2020_1440x400 update

The International Institute

The AACRAO International Institute covers promising practices for the evaluation of international credentials that combines AACRAO’s On-Demand International Series with five, two-hour, virtual instructor-led training sessions.

Learn More
AACRAO International Institute Banner