Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x



The Republic of Zambia is a landlocked country in southern Africa bordered by Tanzania, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Malawi, Botswana, Angola, and the Democratic Republic of Congo. The area of present-day Zambia was inhabited by hunter-gatherers, and the first Europeans arrived in the 18th century. The Territory of Northern Rhodesia formed the current borders of Zambia. The Territory was administered by the British South Africa Company from 1891 until it became a British colony in 1923. It remained a British colony until October 1964 when it declared independence and changed its name to Zambia. The population of Zambia is 11,477,447 and the literacy rate is 80.6%. English is the official language and the language of instruction in schools, with Bemba, Kaonda, Lozi, Lunda, Luvale, Nyanja, Tonga, and about 70 other indigenous languages also spoken in the country.


The educational system of Zambia is based on the British model and is overseen by the Ministry of General Education. Compulsory education begins at age 7 and ends at age 14. Most students drop out of school at this point because fees are charged for the remaining grades.

Primary and Secondary Education

Lower primary school is 4 years beginning at age 7. Upper primary school is 3 years long and students are awarded a Certificate of Primary Education upon completion. Junior secondary school (Grades 8 and 9) is two years long and, upon completion, students are awarded a Junior Secondary School Certificate. Senior secondary school (Grades 10-12) is three years and after completion students sit for the Zambian School Certificate Examination or the General Certificate of Education Ordinary Level (GCE O-Levels).

Post-Secondary Education

Post-secondary programs are available at the 2 public universities: University of Zambia and Copperbelt University, as well as colleges, institutes and teacher training schools. There are many certificate and diploma programs ranging from 1 to 3 years offered at institutes and colleges.

University admission requires 5 passes at credit level on the Zambian School Certificate Examination or 5 GCE O-Level passes. Some 2-year diplomas from a college may be accepted for admission. The universities offer 1-3 year diploma programs in law, education, social work, and technology. Most bachelor degree programs are 4 years long and some specialized programs, including engineering, agriculture, and architecture are 5 years long. Master's programs are 15 months to 2 years long and require a bachelor's degree for admission. Doctoral programs are at least 3 years long following a master's program.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

Crises as Catalysts for Transformation

Fall 2020 | virtual conference

Join us this fall for a virtual Strategic Enrollment Management Conference - Crises as Catalysts for Transformation: 2020’s Impact on Higher Education and Enrollment.

This three day, virtual conference will feature models for adapting to change, meeting challenges, and planning strategically post-pandemic.

Explore the SEM Conference
SEM_2020_1440x400 update

106th AACRAO Annual Meeting

March 28 - 31, 2021 | National Harbor, MD

AACRAO’s Annual Meeting is our largest convening of higher education professionals from around the world. Join more than 2,000 administrators in person or online as we work to address the issues facing today’s campuses, share goals and guidelines for meeting those challenges, and provide a forum for learning and sharing experiences.

Explore the Annual Meeting