Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Latest Country Updates



The Kingdom of Bhutan is a landlocked, constitutional monarchy in south Asia and is bordered by India and China. The population is 682,321 and the literacy rate is 47%. Dzongkha is the official language, and several Tibetan and Nepalese dialects are also spoken.

Evidence of human inhabitation of present-day Bhutan can be traced back to 2000 BC. The area was inhabited by warring tribes until they unified in the early 17th century by the Tibetan Lama Shabdrung Ngawang Namgyal. In 1865, under the Treaty of Sinchulu, Bhutan ceded some land to British India in exchange for an annual subsidy. In 1907, the British helped to set up a monarchy in Bhutan. In 1910, a treaty allowed the British to direct Bhutan's external affairs while not interfering with internal affairs. In 1947, with the independence of India from Britain, the India government took over the direction of Bhutan's external affairs. In 1949, and Indo-Bhutan accord returned the lands ceded in 1865, and, in 2007, a new accord gives Bhutan more autonomy in its foreign affairs. The country's first parliament was elected in March 2008, and the King ratified the first constitution in July 2008.


The Ministry of Education oversees Bhutan's education system.

Primary Education

Education is free and compulsory from ages 6 to 17. Primary school (Grades I - VI) is 6 years beginning at age 6. At the end of the 6th year, students sit for the All Bhutan Primary Certificate Examination.

Secondary Education

Lower secondary school (Grades VII - IX) is 3 years. At the end of Grade IX, students sit for an external examination leading to the Bhutan Certificate of Secondary Education. Upper secondary school (Grades X - XII) is 3 years. At the end of Grade XII, students sit for an external examination leading to the Bhutan Higher Secondary Education Certificate.

Post-Secondary Education

First Cycle

Post-secondary education is offered at the Royal University of Bhutan and its constituent colleges. Admission to post-secondary education requires sufficient scores on the Bhutan Higher Secondary Education Certificate, and some programs may require an entrance examination. The University and its colleges offer 2-year Diploma and 3-year Bachelors programs. Bachelors (Honours) programs require an additional year of work following a Bachelors degree.

Second Cycle

Graduate programs include the Post-Graduate Diploma which is 1.5 - 2 years following a Bachelors degree, and the Master of Education which is awarded after 4 years of part-time study. A Bachelors degree and 2 years of school management experience are required for admission.

Third Cycle

Doctoral programs are not currently offered in Bhutan.

Teacher Training

Primary and secondary school teachers are training in a 3-year Bachelor of Education program at one of the Colleges of Education. A Bhutan Higher Secondary Education Certificate is required for admission.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

Crises as Catalysts for Transformation

Fall 2020 | virtual conference

Join us this fall for a virtual Strategic Enrollment Management Conference - Crises as Catalysts for Transformation: 2020’s Impact on Higher Education and Enrollment.

This three day, virtual conference will feature models for adapting to change, meeting challenges, and planning strategically post-pandemic.

Explore the SEM Conference
SEM_2020_1440x400 update

106th AACRAO Annual Meeting

March 28 - 31, 2021 | National Harbor, MD

AACRAO’s Annual Meeting is our largest convening of higher education professionals from around the world. Join more than 2,000 administrators in person or online as we work to address the issues facing today’s campuses, share goals and guidelines for meeting those challenges, and provide a forum for learning and sharing experiences.

Explore the Annual Meeting