Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Latest Country Updates
Nov 1, 2021

Benin Baccalaureate Session of June 2021: 1949 Candidates Work For The Donga

Ministers Kouaro Yves Chabi and Eléonore Yayi Ladékan, of secondary and higher education launched this Monday, at Ceg1 in Djougou, in concert with the prefect of Donga Biao Ainin Soulémane Eliassou and the Mayor Séibou Abdoul Malik of Djougou, the written exams of the Baccalaureate, session of June 2021.

Learn more »

May 24, 2021

"Imaginécole" an educational platform for 6.6 million French-speaking students in Africa

To strengthen education systems in the face of the Covid pandemic, the education ministers of 10 West and Central African countries (Benin, Togo, Mali, Côte d'Ivoire, Senegal, Niger, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Cameroon and Chad) gathered this Thursday to launch Imaginécole, a new collaborative online learning platform. A system piloted in particular by France.

Learn more »

May 18, 2021

Baccalaureate in Burkina Faso: What to remember from the current reforms

The 2021 baccalaureate session will be organized by the Bac Office housed within the Joseph KI-Zerbo University and it will have no changes, said the National Education and Higher Education. Baccalaureate holders were also reassured that they will be able to continue to register on the Campus Faso platform for the various orientations, as is currently the case for holders of the baccalaureate from Mali, Benin and Côte d'Ivoire who have always enrolled in universities.

Learn more »

Feb 1, 2021

NECO Suspends SSCE Examinations

National Examination Council NECO has stopped the conduct of the Senior School Certificate Examination SSCE after the country-wide #ENDSARS protests. The decision to stop the conduct of the examination also followed the declaration of 24-hour curfew by some state governors especially those of Lagos, Ogun, Edo and Imo where the #ENDSARS protest had assumed destructive dimensions.

Learn more »

Jul 23, 2020

Benin Adjusts Academic Calendar

Due to Covid-19, the Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research has adjusted the university calendar. Students from the campuses of the National Universities of Benin and those from private universities will observe a new calendar drawn up to end the second semester of the 2019-2020 academic year.

Learn more »


There is 1 archived country study available. Log in to view them.



La République du Benin (The Republic of Benin) is located in Western Africa and is bordered by Togo, Burkina Faso, Niger, Nigeria, and the Bight of Benin. The population is 8,532,547 and the literacy rate is 34.7%. French is the official language, but Fon, Yoruba and at least 6 tribal languages are widely spoken.

The history of Benin can be traced back to the Kingdom of Dahomey that was formed in the 15th century. It was a regional power in Africa, and many slaves were shipped from the area. In 1892, France gained power in the Kingdom, and Dahomey became a region in the French West Africa Colony. Dahomey was granted independence on August 1, 1960. In 1975, Dahomey became known as Benin.


Primary Education

Currently, the education is free and compulsory from ages 6 to 12, but attendance at school is not enforced. École primaire (Primary school) is 6 years beginning at age 6 and leads to the Certificat d'Études Primaires (CEP).

Secondary Education

Lower secondary school offers vocational and general tracks. Vocational école technique (lower secondary school) is 3 years and leads to the Certificat d'Aptitude Professionnelle (CAP). Vocational lycée technique (upper secondary school) is 3 years and leads to the Baccalauréat de l'Enseignement Secondaire Technique or the Diplôme de Technicien Industriel (DTI).

L'enseignement secondaire general (General lower secondary school) is 4 years and leads to the Brevet d'Études du Premier Cycle (BEPC). General upper secondary is offered at lycées. It is a 3-year program and, at the end of the 3rd year, students sit for an external examination leading to the Baccalauréat de l'Enseignement Secondaire.

Post-Secondary Education

Higher education in Benin is currently overseen by the Ministère l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche Scientifique.

First Cycle, Academic

First-cycle university programs require a Baccalauréat de l'Enseignement Secondaire for admission. They are 2 years and lead to the Diplôme Universitaire d'Études Littéraires (DUEL) in the humanities, the Diplôme Universitaire d'Études Scientifiques (DUES) in the sciences, and the Diplôme d'Études Universitaires Générales (DEUG) in law and economics.

First Cycle, Vocational/Technical

Post-secondary vocational programs are 2-3 years. Two-year programs lead to the Brevet de Technicien Supérieur (BTS) or the Diplôme Universitaire de Technologie (DUT). Three-year programs lead to the Diplôme ďEtudes Techniques Supérieures.

Second and Third Cycle

An additional year of study following these programs leads to the Licence. A Maîtrise is awarded after one year of study following a Licence. Graduate programs are 1 year and require a Maîtrise for admission. Students in management, the arts and humanities are awarded a Diplôme d'Études Approfondies (DEA), and students in demography and natural resources are awarded a Diplôme d'Études Supérieures Spécialisées (DESS). Doctoral programs are not currently offered.

Teacher Training

Both primary and lower secondary school teachers are trained in a 3-year program at an école normale intégrée (ENI) (integrated teacher training school) leading to a Certificat Elémentaire d'Aptitude Professionnelle (CEAP)/ Certificat d'Aptitude Pédagogique (CAP). Admissions to these programs, per level of teaching, varies. Primary school teachers are required to have a Brevet ďEtudes du Premier Cycle (BEPC) for admission while lower secondary teachers must have a Baccalauréat for admission.

Lower secondary school teachers can also complete a 3-year program leading to the Brevet d'Aptitude au Professorat de ľEnseignement Secondaire (BAPES) at the École Normale Supérieure (ENS) (Higher Teacher Training School). Upper secondary school teachers are also trained in a 3-year program at the École Normale Supérieure (ENS) leading to the Certificat d'Aptitude au Professorat de l'Enseignement Secondaire (CAPES). Both of these programs require a Diplôme Universitaire d'Études Littéraires (DUEL) or a Diplôme Universitaire d'Études Scientifiques (DUES) for admission.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

On-Demand Learning

Self-Paced | Online

Self-paced courses aligned with our competency and proficiency framework, AACRAO's on-demand training will build your skills and enhance your resume. 

Courses in:

  • Compliance
  • International
  • and more

Learn More

SEM_2020_1440x400 update

The International Institute

The AACRAO International Institute covers promising practices for the evaluation of international credentials that combines AACRAO’s On-Demand International Series with five, two-hour, virtual instructor-led training sessions.

Learn More
AACRAO International Institute Banner