Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Latest Country Updates

There is 1 archived country study available. Log in to view them.



The Republika y'u Burundi (République du Burundi) is a landlocked country in southwestern Africa bordered by Rwanda, Tanzania, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Lake Tanganyika. The population is 8,691,005 and the literacy rate is 59.3%. Kirundi and French are the official languages, and Swahili is spoken along Lake Tanganyika and in the area of Bujumbura.

The first inhabitants of present-day Burundi were the Twa pygmy tribes who arrived in 70,000 BC. The Hutus arrived approximately 5,000 years ago from central Africa. By the late 15th century AD, the Tutsis arrived. In 1899, Burundi became a German colony and, following its defeat in World War I, Germany handed over Burundi to Belgium. Burundi, along with present-day Rwanda, formed the Belgian colony of Ruanda-Urundi. On July 1, 1962, Burundi was granted independence from Belgium. Since that time, there have been periodic battles between the Hutu and Tutsi factions resulting in the deaths over 250,000 people.


Education is free and compulsory from ages 6 to 12, although attendance is not enforced. Most students only complete 10 years of education.

Primary and Secondary Education

Primary and secondary education previously lasted 13 years in Burundi. In 2016, the system changed to a 12-year one. Since the educational reforms, primary and lower secondary education are now regarded as one cycle – enseignement fondamental, taking 9 years to complete.

Academic upper secondary school in Burundi is taken at lycées, lasting 3 years. Upon completion, students earn the Certificat de Fin d'Études Post Fondamentales Générales (Certificate of the End of General Post-fundamental Studies). However, to continue on to university and achieve full access to higher ed, students must then take the state examinations. Upon successful passing of these examinations, students earn the Diplôme ďEtat (State Diploma).

Post-Secondary Education

Currently, education in Burundi is overseen by the country's Ministère de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche Scientifique.

First Cycle

Admission to the Université de Burundi requires a Diplôme d'État. First-level university programs begin with the 2-year program leading to the Diplôme de Candidature followed by a 2-year program leading to the Diplôme de Licence. After the first-cycle, and completion of 3 years of university study (180 ECTS credits), students are awarded with a Baccalauréat. Engineering programs leading to the Diplôme ďIngénieur are 5 years following a Diplôme d'État.

Beginning in 2010-2011, in response to the Bologna Process in Europe , Burundi implemented the Baccalauréat-Mastère-Doctorat (BMD) education cycle. The Baccalauréat is a first cycle degree and awarded upon completion of three years of university study (180 ECTS credits). Admission requires completion of upper secondary school validated by the Diplôme d’État. Holders of the Baccalauréat may continue their studies or seek employment.

Second and Third Cycle

In the BMD-implemented education cycle, the Mastère is a second cycle degree and awarded upon completion of two years of university study (120 ECTS credits). There is a research/academic based Mastère (Mastère de recherche), as well as a professionally-oriented one (Mastère professionnel). Admission requires the Baccalauréat and on completion provides access to further education or employment.

The Doctorat is a third cycle degree awarded upon completion of three years of university study. It requires the Mastère for admission and on completion provides access to employment.

Graduate programs leading to the Diplôme d'Études Approfondies (DEA) and the Diplôme d'Études Supérieures Spécialisées (DESS) are 1-2 years and require a Diplôme de Licence or a Diplôme ďIngénieur for admission. Doctoral programs are offered in conjunction with universities in Belgium and France.

Teacher Education

Primary school teachers are trained at lycées pedagogiques (pedagogical upper secondary school) in a 4-year program following the Certificat du Tronc Commun. Lower secondary and secondary school teachers are trained at the Institut de Pédagogie Appliquée (Institute of Applied Pedagogy). The lower secondary teacher program is 3 years and leads to the Diplôme Professionnel ďEnseignement. The upper secondary teacher program is 4 years and leads to the Diplôme de Licencié Agrégé de ľEnseignement Secondaire. Both programs require a Diplôme d'État for admission.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

On-Demand Learning

Self-Paced | Online

Self-paced courses aligned with our competency and proficiency framework, AACRAO's on-demand training will build your skills and enhance your resume. 

Courses in:

  • Compliance
  • International
  • and more

Learn More

SEM_2020_1440x400 update

The International Institute

The AACRAO International Institute covers promising practices for the evaluation of international credentials that combines AACRAO’s On-Demand International Series with five, two-hour, virtual instructor-led training sessions.

Learn More
AACRAO International Institute Banner