Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

British Indian Ocean Territory


The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) is located in the Indian Ocean south of Sri Lanka. In 1965 the islands were established as a territory of the United Kingdom. Some of the islands were transferred to the Seychelles when the BIOT obtained independence in 1976. The indigenous inhabitants were relocated during construction of a joint US and UK military base on Diego Garcia, the largest of the islands in the archipelago. A trust fund was established to help compensate the relocated population. In 1998 a long legal battle began, brought on by the islanders, for more compensation which lasted until 2008. The final ruling was against the islanders, they were not allowed to return to the islands or offered more compensation. As of 2004 approximately 4,000 UK and US military personnel and civilian contractors inhabit the island with no indigenous population. The literacy rate is not known.

The educational system is based upon that of The United Kingdom.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

Crises as Catalysts for Transformation

Fall 2020 | virtual conference

Join us this fall for a virtual Strategic Enrollment Management Conference - Crises as Catalysts for Transformation: 2020’s Impact on Higher Education and Enrollment.

This three day, virtual conference will feature models for adapting to change, meeting challenges, and planning strategically post-pandemic.

Explore the SEM Conference
SEM_2020_1440x400 update

106th AACRAO Annual Meeting

March 28 - 31, 2021 | National Harbor, MD

AACRAO’s Annual Meeting is our largest convening of higher education professionals from around the world. Join more than 2,000 administrators in person or online as we work to address the issues facing today’s campuses, share goals and guidelines for meeting those challenges, and provide a forum for learning and sharing experiences.

Explore the Annual Meeting