Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x


There is 1 archived country study available. Log in to view them.

Fiji Islands


Fiji became independent in 1970, after nearly a century as a British colony. Various military and civilian coups occurred between 1987 and 2001. Parliamentary elections held in August 2001 provided Fiji with a democratically elected government.

Fiji is an island group in the South Pacific Ocean, about two-thirds of the way from Hawaii and New Zealand. It consists of four main islands and approximately 840 smaller islands. Most of the people live on the two largest islands, Viti Levu and Vanua Levu. The capital is Suva (on Viti Levu). The languages are English and Fijian.


Primary Education

In the past, the school system was divided into 8 years of elementary education and 4 years of secondary education. In the 1980s, a 6+4+2 or 3 system was introduced.

Secondary Education

Students can enter junior secondary school after the 6th grade and the passing of the Fiji intermediate Examination. Lower secondary school ends at grade 10 with the award of the Junior Certificate Examination. Senior secondary school, Grade 12, ends with the award of the Fiji School Leaving Certificate. Students can then proceed to Form 7, an additional year 13, and complete the Fiji Form 7 Examination in four or five subjects. This gives direct access to higher education. Students may also take a one year foundation course to be admitted to the first degree courses. There are also technical high schools that provide the 2 years of upper secondary school and Form 7.

Post-Secondary Education

Higher education is mainly provided by the University of the South Pacific (USP) and several other institutions of higher education. The University serves eleven English-speaking territories in the South Pacific. The academic year is from February to November. The language of instruction is English.

First Cycle

The first stage of higher education, following the university foundation year or Form 7, is three years of full-time study to earn a Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree. In Medicine, the first degree takes six years at the Fiji School of Medicine.

Schools offers 2- and 3-year Certificates or Diplomas in many fields.

Second Cycle

The second stage of education is the Masters Degree, is conferred after 1 to 3 years study beyond the Bachelor's Degree. It is awarded either after the submission of a thesis following research in an approved topic or after course work, examination and thesis.

Third Cycle

The third stage leads to the award of a Doctor of Philosophy Degree. Studies last a minimum of 3 years. Candidates must submit a thesis after research in an approved subject.

Teacher Training

Primary school teachers complete 2-year programs after passing the Fiji School Leaving Certificate (grade 12). Secondary school teachers obtain a Diploma in Education after 3 years training in the University's School of Humanities or they read for a Bachelors Degree in Arts or Science and then do a further year leading to a Postgraduate Certificate in Education.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

On-Demand Learning

Self-Paced | Online

Self-paced courses aligned with our competency and proficiency framework, AACRAO's on-demand training will build your skills and enhance your resume. 

Courses in:

  • Compliance
  • International
  • and more

Learn More

SEM_2020_1440x400 update

The International Institute

The AACRAO International Institute covers promising practices for the evaluation of international credentials that combines AACRAO’s On-Demand International Series with five, two-hour, virtual instructor-led training sessions.

Learn More
AACRAO International Institute Banner