Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Latest Country Updates



La République de Djibouti (The Republic of Djibouti) is located in eastern Africa on the Horn of Africa, and is bordered by Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia and the Gulf of Aden. The population is 506,221 and the literacy rate is 67.9%. French and Arabic are the official languages.

Civilization in the area of present-day Djibouti can be traced back thousands of years. The first inhabitants were traders who traded with visitors from Egypt, India and China. In 1862, the area became a French colony known as French Somaliland. In 1967, it became known as the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas. The Republic of Djibouti was created on June 27, 1997 when the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas was granted independence from France.


Currently, Djibouti's education system is overseen by the Ministère de l’Education Nationale et de la Formation Professionnelle.

Primary Education

Education is free and compulsory from ages 6 to 15, but attendance is not enforced and most students leave school after 4 years. Primary school up to 2000 was 6 years beginning at age 6. After 2000, this was changed to 5 years beginning at age 6. Upon completion, students are awarded a Certificat de Fin ďÊtudes de Base (CFEB).

Secondary Education

Lower secondary school has vocational and general academic options. Vocational lower secondary school is offered at centre d'apprentissage (Apprenticeship Centers). It is a 4-year program and stuents are awarded a Certificat d'Apprentissage et de Perfectionnement (CAP) upon completion. Collège d'Enseignement moyen is a 4-year program leading to the Brevet d'Enseignement Fondamental (BEF).

Vocational upper secondary school is offered at a lycée d'Enseignement professionnel. It is a 2-year program and leads to the Brevet d'Etudes Professionnelles (BEP) or the Baccalauréat Professionnel (BP).

Technical upper secondary school is a 3-year program that is offered at a lycée ďenseignement technique. Upon completion, students sit for an external examination leading to the Baccalauréat Technologique (BT).

Lycée d'Enseignement général (General upper secondary school) is a 3-year program. At the end of the 3rd year, students sit for an external examination leading to the Baccalauréat de l'Enseignement Secondaire.

Post-Secondary Education

First Cycle, Academic

The Université de Djibouti opened in 2006. It offers a 2-year program leading to the Diplôme Universitaire de Technologie (DUT) or the Diplôme d'Etudes Universitaires Générales (DEUG). After a further year of study, students are awarded a Diplôme de Licence.

First Cycle, Vocational/Technical

Vocational post-secondary education is offered at the Centre de Formation des Personnels de ľ Education Nationale (CFPEN) (Center for Personnel Training and National Education). It is a 2-year program leading to the Brevet de Technicien Supérieur (BTS).

Second and Third Cycles

Graduate programs are not currently offered. The University is preparing to adopt the licence-master-doctor (L-M-D) system to become more aligned with the university structure in France.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

On-Demand Learning

Self-Paced | Online

Self-paced courses aligned with our competency and proficiency framework, AACRAO's on-demand training will build your skills and enhance your resume. 

Courses in:

  • Compliance
  • International
  • and more

Learn More

SEM_2020_1440x400 update

The International Institute

The AACRAO International Institute covers promising practices for the evaluation of international credentials that combines AACRAO’s On-Demand International Series with five, two-hour, virtual instructor-led training sessions.

Learn More
AACRAO International Institute Banner