Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x


There is 1 archived country study available. Log in to view them.

Burkina Faso


Burkina Faso is a landlocked country in West Africa bordered by Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo, Ghana, and Côte d'Ivoire. Formerly known as the Republic of Upper Volta, it was renamed “Burkina Faso” on August 4, 1984, by President Thomas Sankara. Burkina Faso means “Land of the Upright People”. The name was chosen to reflect the 2 major languages spoken in the country. “Burkina” means “men of integrity” in the Moré language and “Faso” means “father's house” in the Dioula language. It is one of poorest countries in the world with few natural resources. The population of Burkina Faso is 14,326,203 and literacy is 21.8%, which is the lowest in Africa. French is the official language, but is not widely-spoken. Ninety percent of the people of Burkina Faso speak languages from the Sudanic language family.

Inhabitants of present-day Burkina Faso can be traced back to hunter-gatherers who arrived in about 12,000 BC. In 1896, the area became a French protectorate and gained independence in 1960.


Education is compulsory from ages 6 to 16, but only 40% of primary school age children are enrolled and only 9.2% of secondary school age children are enrolled. Girls make up just 35% of all students enrolled. Currently, the Ministère de l'Éducation oversees lower levels of education while the Ministère de l'Enseignement Supérieur, de la Recherche Scientifique et de l'Innovation> oversees post-secondary eduacation.

Primary Education

Enseignement de Base (Primary Education) is 6 years and students are awarded a Certificat d'Études Primaires upon completion.

Secondary Education

Following basic education, students can continue on in general or technical/vocational studies at the lower secondary level. Technical/vocational lower secondary studies are offered at collêges ďenseignement technique (CET) (technical lower secondary schools). The programs are 3 years long and students are awarded a Certificat d'Aptitude Professionnelle (CAP). General lower secondary studies are offered at collêges ďenseignement général (general lower secondary schools). Upon completion of study, students are awarded a Brevet d'Études du Premier Cycle (BEPC).

Following lower secondary, students have the choice of continuing in technical or general studies at the upper secondary level. General upper secondary level studies 3 years and are offered at lycées. Upon completion, students are awarded a Baccalauréat or a Diplôme de Bachelier de l'Enseignement du Second Degré. Technical upper secondary studies at lycées techniques (technical upper secondary schools). There are 2-year and 3-years programs. The 2-year programs are less academic and more vocational in nature and students are awarded a Brevet ďEtudes Professionnelles (BEP). 3-year programs are academic and technical, and award a Baccalauréat Technique

Post-Secondary Education

First Cycle, Academic

There are 3 public universities: Université de Ouagadougou, the Université Polytechnique de Bobo-Dioulasso, and the Université de Koudougou. Admission to university studies requires a baccalauréat. First-cycle university studies are 2 years and students are awarded a Diplôme ďEtudes Universitaires Générales (DEUG) or a Diplôme Universitaire de Technologie (DUT), depending on their program of study.

First Cycle, Vocational/Technical

Public and private institutions provide post-secondary programs of study. The École Inter-États des Techniciens Supérieurs de l'Hydraulique et de Équipement Rural (Inter-State School of Hydraulic and Rural Equipment Higher Technicians) is a public institution and offers a 2-year program and awards a Technicien Supérieur (Higher Technician) upon completion.

Second Cycle

Second cycle studies include the one-year Licence which requires a DEUG for admission, and is followed by the one-year Maîtrise. The Diplôme d'Ingénieur is awarded after a 3-year program of study following a DEUG.

Third Cycle

Third cycle (post-graduate) studies require a maîtrise or Diplôme ďIngénieur. The Diplôme d'Études Supérieures Spécialisées (DESS) and the Diplôme d'Études Approfondies (DEA) are one-year post-graduate programs.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

Crises as Catalysts for Transformation

Fall 2020 | virtual conference

Join us this fall for a virtual Strategic Enrollment Management Conference - Crises as Catalysts for Transformation: 2020’s Impact on Higher Education and Enrollment.

This three day, virtual conference will feature models for adapting to change, meeting challenges, and planning strategically post-pandemic.

Explore the SEM Conference
SEM_2020_1440x400 update

106th AACRAO Annual Meeting

March 28 - 31, 2021 | National Harbor, MD

AACRAO’s Annual Meeting is our largest convening of higher education professionals from around the world. Join more than 2,000 administrators in person or online as we work to address the issues facing today’s campuses, share goals and guidelines for meeting those challenges, and provide a forum for learning and sharing experiences.

Explore the Annual Meeting