Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Northern Mariana Islands (Commonwealth of the)


The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI) is a 300-mile archipelago of 14 islands located in the Northern Pacific three-quarters of the way between Hawaii and the Philippines. The CNMI is an organized, unincorporated territory of the United States in the northern Pacific Ocean. The islands’ capital is Saipan and the population is 52,000.


As a territory of the United States, all schools follow the US education system. K-12 education is the responsibility of The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands Public School System. Higher education accreditation in the Mariana Islands falls under the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC). The language of instruction in the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands is English.

Please see the United States of America profile.

N.B.: Residents of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands are US citizens and can not only travel to and from the United States without a visa, they are eligible to work, vote and hold elective office.


Upcoming AACRAO Events

On-Demand Learning

Self-Paced | Online

Self-paced courses aligned with our competency and proficiency framework, AACRAO's on-demand training will build your skills and enhance your resume. 

Courses in:

  • Compliance
  • International
  • and more

Learn More

SEM_2020_1440x400 update

The International Institute

The AACRAO International Institute covers promising practices for the evaluation of international credentials that combines AACRAO’s On-Demand International Series with five, two-hour, virtual instructor-led training sessions.

Learn More
AACRAO International Institute Banner