Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Jan 24, 2023

Feds investigate the Puerto Rico Department of Education

Agents from the Office of the Inspector General of the federal Department of Education, arrived at the offices of the Department of Education to fill out a request for information.

Learn more »

Mar 3, 2022

SAT going digital in shifting US college admissions landscape

The SAT exam will move from paper and pencil to a digital format, saying the shift will boost its relevancy as more colleges make standardized tests optional for admission.

Learn more »

Puerto Rico


Puerto Rico is an island commonwealth located between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, east of the Dominican Republic. The capitol of Puerto Rico is San Juan and the population 3.5 million.

A Commonwealth whose residents are US citizens, all schools follow the US education system. K-12 education is under the jurisdiction of the Puerto Rico Department of Education with additional information here. The State Higher Education Agency is responsible for higher education. Universities are under the jurisdiction of the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. The main language of instruction in Puerto Rico is Spanish, with English typically taught as a foreign language.

Click here for the EDGE profile on the USA.

N.B. Residents of Puerto Rico are US citizens and can not only travel to and from the United States without a visa, they are eligible to work, vote and hold elective office.


Upcoming AACRAO Events

On-Demand Learning

Self-Paced | Online

Self-paced courses aligned with our competency and proficiency framework, AACRAO's on-demand training will build your skills and enhance your resume. 

Courses in:

  • Compliance
  • International
  • and more

Learn More

SEM_2020_1440x400 update

The International Institute

The AACRAO International Institute covers promising practices for the evaluation of international credentials that combines AACRAO’s On-Demand International Series with five, two-hour, virtual instructor-led training sessions.

Learn More
AACRAO International Institute Banner