Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x

Sep 18, 2020

Canadian Medical Students Demand Change After ‘Inhumane’ Exam Conditions

Graduating medical school students are required to take part one of the Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Exam (MCCQE) at some point during their first year of residency. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, students will now have to take the exam online which has resulted in several difficulties.

Learn more »

Sep 4, 2020

School Reopening Plans, Province By Province

As schools resume across Canada in September, changes are being implemented province by province to protect students and teachers during the COVID-19 pandemic. The Prime Minister announced $2 billion in support for provinces and territories to ensure the safety of students and staff members throughout the school year.

Learn more »

Sep 4, 2020

COVID-19 and changes to postgraduate medical education in Canada

Postgraduate medical education in Canada drastically changed due to COVID-19. This article identifies key issues that medical schools and residents face in this new paradigm of medical education.

Learn more »


There are 2 archived country studies available. Log in to view them.

Canada: New Brunswick


The Canadian province of New Brunswick is one of the three Maritime Provinces (Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia are the others). It shares borders with Quebec on the northwest, the province of Nova Scotia—via the Chignecto Isthmus—on the southeast corner and the US state of Maine on the west. It also borders four bodies of water—the Chaleur/Nepisguit Bay on the northeast, the Gulf of St. Lawrence and the Northumberland Strait on the east and the Bay of Fundy on the south. With an estimated population of approximately 754,000, it ranks eighth among the provinces. The capital of New Brunswick is Fredericton.

Originally part of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick was established as a separate province in 1784. New Brunswick is governed by its Legislative Assembly. The official languages of New Brunswick are English (66%) and French (31.5%), with the remaining 2.5% of the population reporting themselves to be either bilingual (English and French), German-speaking or speaking an Aboriginal language (Mi’kmaq or Maliseet.)


Primary and Secondary Education

Education in New Brunswick is divided along linguistic lines — Anglophone (English) and Francophone (French). The public school system—primary and secondary—is under the direction of two assistant deputy ministers in the Department of Education. This structure has been in place since 1974. There are nine Anglophone and five Francophone school districts. The Anglophone structure is elementary (kindergarten through fifth grade), middle (sixth through eighth grade) and secondary (ninth through twelfth grade). The Francophone structure is elementary (kindergarten through eighth grade) and secondary (ninth through twelfth grade). The standard school year runs from September to June.

Free public schooling was established with the Common Schools Act of 1871. In New Brunswick, public schooling is free for all provincial residents through the age of eighteen. With the introduction of kindergartens in 1991-1992, compulsory education begins at age five and continues through age sixteen, which coincides with the second year of high school. Most students continue on to earn their New Brunswick high school diploma. Both linguistic sectors follow a generally common curriculum. This curriculum includes second language training in either English or French, depending on the school district.

Post-Secondary Education

The New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour is responsible for all higher education in the province. There are four publicly funded universities—one French and three English—with seven campuses throughout the province. The New Brunswick Community College system has eleven campuses—five French and six English—that offer a variety of specializations. There are also specialized institutes, private religious universities and universities recognized under the Degree Granting Act (2001); this act allows private for-profit institutions to be conferred degree-granting status.

First Cycle

University-level first-stage bachelor’s degrees with the general bachelor’s degree requiring a minimum of three years of study or the honours degree requiring a minimum of four years. The first stage also includes special certificate programs. Non-university level post-secondary studies are also available.

Second Cycle

University-level second-stage is the master’s degree that normally requires at least one year of study after the honours bachelor’s degree. Some master’s programs require at least two years.

Third Cycle

University-level third-stage is the doctorate degree normally requiring three years of study after the bachelor’s and a thesis.

Teacher Training

Teacher education at the primary and secondary level requires two undergraduate degrees, one of which must be an initial teacher training program (BEd or Certificate 5).

Jennifer Minke
Jennifer Minke

Assistant Director of Admissions, Tarrant County College District


Upcoming AACRAO Events

Crises as Catalysts for Transformation

Fall 2020 | virtual conference

Join us this fall for a virtual Strategic Enrollment Management Conference - Crises as Catalysts for Transformation: 2020’s Impact on Higher Education and Enrollment.

This three day, virtual conference will feature models for adapting to change, meeting challenges, and planning strategically post-pandemic.

Explore the SEM Conference
SEM_2020_1440x400 update

106th AACRAO Annual Meeting

March 28 - 31, 2021 | National Harbor, MD

AACRAO’s Annual Meeting is our largest convening of higher education professionals from around the world. Join more than 2,000 administrators in person or online as we work to address the issues facing today’s campuses, share goals and guidelines for meeting those challenges, and provide a forum for learning and sharing experiences.

Explore the Annual Meeting