Staff Directory

Questions about whom to contact? Please see the Contact Directory.

Notice:

AACRAO Staff are working remotely, M-F, 9AM - 5PM due to COVID.

We want to hear from you.
Email is the best way to reach staff.
Phone lines are working. If you do not reach your intended party, be sure to leave a voicemail.
Mail sent to the office is checked weekly. Expect delays in response and processing.

Executive Team

Melanie Gottlieb

Executive Director
202-355-1055
gottliebm@aacrao.org

Dr. Tina DeNeen

Associate Executive Director
Meetings and Partnerships
202-263-0288
deneent@aacrao.org

Michele Sandlin

Interim Associate Executive Director
541-619-0978
sandlinm@aacrao.org

AACRAO Consulting

Jody Gordon

Managing Consultant
AACRAO Consulting
gordonj@aacrao.org

Mike Simmons

Strategic Projects Manager
AACRAO Consulting
simmonsm@aacrao.org

Nicole Spero

Senior Associate Director
AACRAO Consulting
202-355-1049
speron@aacrao.org

Content and Curriculum

Michael Sisson

Associate Director
Content and Curriculum
202-355-1069
sissonm@aacrao.org

LeRoy Rooker

Senior Fellow
202-355-1059
FERPA@aacrao.org

Annetta Stroud

Associate Director
Content and Curriculum
202-355-1064
strouda@aacrao.org

Communication & Marketing

Quintina Barnett Gallion

Director
Communication & Marketing
202-355-1052
gallionq@aacrao.org

Christine Apple

Community & Volunteer Manager
applec@aacrao.org

Joseph Beam

Coordinator
Marketing
202-355-1043
beamj@aacrao.org

Mariana Patterson

Coordinator
Marketing & Communication
202-263-0283
pattersonm@aacrao.org

Heather Zimar

Managing Editor
C&U and SEM Quarterly
zimarh@aacrao.org

Corporate Partnerships

Anita Nuñez Cepollaro

Director
Corporate Partnerships
202-716-1004
cepollaroa@aacrao.org

Natalia Jimenez

Assistant Director
Marketing & Exhibits
202-263-0287
jimenezn@aacrao.org

GOVERNANCE

Tiffany Hsu

Associate Director
Board Services
202-263-0290
hsut@aacrao.org

Government Relations

William Gil

Director
Government Relations
202-355-1080
gilw@aacrao.org

Michelle Mott

Associate Director
Government Relations and Communications
202-355-1051
mottm@aacrao.org

Information Technology

Charles Han

Director
Information Technology
202-263-0291
hanc@aacrao.org

Matt MacIntire 

Associate Director
Information Technology
202-355-1074
mattm@aacrao.org

International

Julia Funaki

Associate Director
International
202-355-1054
funakij@aacrao.org

Drew Carlisle

Assistant Director
EDGE Development
202-355-1063
carlisled@aacrao.org

David Mihalyi

Assistant Director
International
mihalyid@aacrao.org

Meetings & Special Events

Becky Fowkes

Associate Director
Meetings and Special Events
fowkesb@aacrao.org

Erika M. Watts

Assistant Director
Meetings and Special Events
202-263-0286
wattse@aacrao.org

Membership & Publications

Martha Henebry

Director of Operations
Membership & Publications
202-263-0285
henebrym@aacrao.org

Alex Lojko

Associate Director
Membership and Awards
202-263-0297
lojkoa@aacrao.org

Corinne MacIntire

Associate Director
Membership and Publications
202-263-0282
macintirec@aacrao.org

Orlando Mayorga

Assistant Director
Membership
202-263-0284
mayorgao@aacrao.org

Research

Dr. Wendy Kilgore

Director
Research
202-355-1066
wendyk@aacrao.org

 

AACRAO_Connect_logo_final
two people shake hands

Introducing AACRAO’s Interim Executive Director, Melanie Gottlieb

Mar 9, 2021

Gottlieb to serve as Interim Executive Director beginning May 1

group of applicants wearing business attire silently look over a sheet

AACRAO Executive Director search update

Feb 23, 2021

Candidate to be announced before the 2021 (106th) AACRAO Annual Meeting.

headshot of Joseph Beam

Meet Joseph Beam, AACRAO’s new Marketing Coordinator

Feb 23, 2021

Help us welcome him to our team.

person writing on a whiteboard with many post-its stuck to the surface

AACRAO approves new Strategic Plan

Jan 25, 2021

Next step: develop strategies and tactics.

zoomed in headshot of Anita Nuñez Cepollaro

Meet Anita Nuñez Cepollaro, AACRAO’s new Director of Corporate Partnerships

Jan 11, 2021

Help us welcome her to the team.

selfie of woman smiling at camera, blurred xmas tree in background

3 goodbye lessons: On becoming a statistic, and embracing it

Dec 12, 2020

Connect editor Brooke Barnett says goodbye to AACRAO.

squiggly lines starting at the left of the image pass through a yellow lightbulb in the middle and then emerge on the right as straight arrows

Update on AACRAO’s Strategic Planning process

Sep 5, 2020

New 10-year plan to be released in the coming months.

hand holding an illuminated lightbulb with a graduation cap on top

AACRAO staff to present on international credential evaluation at TAICEP

Sep 5, 2020

Conference to be held virtually in October.

headshot of Cao-Nguyen Jonathan

Meet Jonathan Cao-Nguyen, new International Educational News Content Curator for EDGE

Sep 5, 2020

Researching and documenting education news from around the world.

1987 photo of Ed Devlin

In memory of Edward Devlin

Jul 25, 2020

Ed’s groundbreaking work and advocacy enriched AACRAO and higher education.

man in business suit at computer with pilsner

8 tips for keeping your team connected from the home office

Mar 23, 2020

Remote work is the new normal, but physical distancing doesn’t have to mean social isolation.

Headshot of Tina DeNeen

AACRAO welcomes Tina DeNeen as Associate Executive Director

Mar 17, 2019

The University Registrar, basketball aficionado, and long-time AACRAO volunteer will become the new AED of Meetings and Partnerships on May 1.

female holds two sticks, one in either hand, while posing on a hill overlooking a body of water and trees

AACRAO’s Janie Barnett to retire in 2019

Oct 29, 2018

After nearly 50 years in service to higher education, the Associate Executive Director and “heart of AACRAO” is ready for her next adventure.

AACRAO welcomes William Gil as the Director of Government Relations

Feb 7, 2017

AACRAO's seat at the table with the presidential administration and Congress.

Meet the AACRAO Staff: Melanie Gottlieb, Deputy Director

Aug 25, 2015

Melanie talks about the transition from institution to association and confesses to "a serious book habit."

Meet the AACRAO Staff: Nicole Spero, Assoc. Dir. of Consulting

Mar 23, 2015

She oversees the task flow of consulting projects -- and has been known to frequent throwback 80s parties.

Meet the Staff: Heather Zimar, Managing Editor, C&U and SEM Quarterly

Mar 17, 2015

Meet AACRAO's resident polo fan, yogini and C&U wordsmith.

Meet the AACRAO Staff: Dr. Tom Green, Associate Executive Director, Consulting and SEM

Jan 13, 2015

AACRAO's art and theater enthusiast, classical musician and practicing SEM doctor.

Meet the Staff: Julia Funaki, Associate Director, International Education Services

Dec 2, 2014

This issue, promenade with avid reader, chef and practiced square dancer Julia Funaki.

Meet the Staff: Charles Han, Assistant Director of Information Technology

Oct 21, 2014

Meety AACRAO's resident IT guru, pool shark, and dance pro!

Meet the AACRAO Staff: Michelle Cormier Mott

Oct 23, 2013

Meet the AACRAO Staff: Natalia Jimenez -- Asst. Director, Marketing and Exhibits

Oct 22, 2013