LEARN Commission

The American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO) and Sova are collaborating on the Learning Evaluation and Recognition for the Next Generation (LEARN) Commission, a new national effort to recognize undergraduate learning and improve credit evaluation policies and practices.

Composed of practitioner leaders, accreditors, and research experts from across the country, the LEARN Commission will recommend national guidelines to practitioners for recognizing undergraduate learning in all its forms and applying learning to credentials, with the intent of advancing learning mobility

To compete in a global economy, an increasing share of Americans are completing learning beyond a high school curriculum, moving effectively between high school, the workforce, college, and other training providers to access rigorous and relevant learning. However, as learners move across learning providers, recognition of their learning does not always move with them. For example, analysis by the U.S. Government Accountability Office estimates that learners lose 43% of their credits when they transfer across postsecondary institutions. 

The LEARN Commission will evaluate policies and practices for transferring and applying credit between accredited institutions, as well as policies and processes for recognizing credit earned from high school dual enrollment and learning obtained in the workplace and military. In these areas, the Commission will also assess the potential of new technologies to streamline credit evaluation processes, while eliminating human error and bias.

The work of the LEARN Commission is part of the Beyond Transfer initiative and is made possible with the generous support of the Ascendium Education Group. 

LEARN Commission Membership

  • Dr. Marjorie Dorimé-Williams, Sr. Research Associate, Postsecondary Policy, MDRC
  • Dr. Beth Doyle, Senior Vice President, Initiatives & Solutions, Council for Adult and Experiential Learning (CAEL) 
  • Dr. Malou C. Harrison, Provost and designee of President Madeline Pumariega, Miami Dade College
  • Ms. Emily Kittrell, Assistant Director, National Institute for the Study of Transfer Students (NISTS)
  • Dr. Samuel Lee, Chief Ambassador of the California MAP Initiative and Interim Vice President, Norco College
  • Dr. Alexandra W. Logue, Professor Emerita, Center for Advanced Study of Education at CUNY Graduate Center
  • Dr. Alexei Matveev, Director of Training and Research, Southern Association of Colleges & Schools Commission on Colleges
  • Ms. Cassandra Moore, Director of Enrollment Development & Admissions, Anne Arundel Community College
  • Ms. Sarah C. Muller, Assistant Registrar - Transfer Credit Center, Ohio State University
  • Dr. Hironao Okahana, AVP for Research, American Council on Education (ACE)
  • Dr. Heather F. Perfetti, President, Middle States Commission on Higher Education 
  • Ms. Julia Pomerenk, Registrar and Associate Vice President for Student Services and Enrollment Management, University of Oregon
  • Dr. Carolyn Sherlet Gentle-Genitty, Dean of Founder's College, Butler University
  • Ms. Jamienne Studley, President, WASC Senior College and University Commission
  • Dr. Janie Valdés, Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management & Services - FIU Connect4Success, Florida International University

Get Involved with Innovative Credentials

Join the Community of Practice

The AACRAO Exchange Innovative Credentials Community connects higher education professionals to learn from each other, share insights and best practices, and support the development and implementation of innovative credentials.

Contact Us

Interested in learning more about Innovative Credentials? Complete the form below to contact us.