AACRAOans are on their way to Germany this fall

August 8, 2017
  • AACRAO Connect
  • International Admissions and Credential Evaluation
Photo of the "Johanneskirche" cathedral in Freiburg, Germany.

Each year for the past 20+ years, AACRAO members have participated on the Baden-Württemberg Seminar (BW Seminar), a professional development program funded by the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts. 

Begun 25 years ago, the BW Seminar is hosted by different universities in the state of Baden-Württemberg on a rotating basis. The seminar focuses on the German educational system, German-American academic equivalencies and student exchange between Germany and the U.S. Lectures and discussions are complemented by visits to primary, secondary, and tertiary educational institutions in the state of Baden-Württemberg. The seminar takes place yearly in the fall, and typically lasts for about a week.

Application information goes up on AACRAO’s and NAFSA’s websites early in the year, with applications due in the spring. A selection committee comprised of AACRAO and NAFSA members, as well as a colleague from Baden-Württemberg, chooses 12-18 participants (the number of participants varies with the location of the seminar).

This year, we are proud to announce that these AACRAO members have been chosen to participate:

Rosie Edmond, Director of International Admissions, Ohio Northern University

Jonathan Jump, Associate Dean of the College and Registrar, Wabash College

Anne Lanzit, Program Manager, Graduate Admissions, University of Connecticut

Nora McLaughlin, Registrar, Reed College

Brenda Schumann, Associate Registrar, University of Texas at Austin

Jandi Sorbo, Program Assistant for Study Abroad and Exchange Programs, Oregon State University

Cynthia Welle, Assistant Director of International Education Programs, University of California, Riverside


Other participants selected include:

Susan Brumbaugh, University of New Mexico

Jessica Driemeier, University of Miami

Staci Hagen, University of California, Davis

Maria Morawski, Educational Credential Evaluators, Inc.

Kenneth Reade, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Ravi Shankar, Northwestern University [NAFSA observer]

Amanda Sines, East Carolina University

Janelle Waldrep, San Francisco State University

For general information about this opportunity, please contact LesLee Clauson Eicher.


AACRAO's bi-weekly professional development e-newsletter is open to members and non-members alike.