Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) Model

IUPUI developed Six Principles of Undergraduate Learning almost 20 years ago. These Principles have guided the development of learning outcomes that are aligned between course, program, and university levels. The Office of Student Affairs later adopted these six principles and added two more (†) to establish Eight Principles of Co-Curricular Learning (PCLs).

  • Core Communication
  • Understanding Society and Culture
  • Critical Thinking
  • Values and Ethics
  • Integration of Knowledge
  • Depth/Breadth/Adaptiveness
  • Intrapersonal development†
  • Interpersonal Development†

For more information, visit the AACRAO Connect story on IUPUI.