AACRAO celebrates 2021 award winners

January 25, 2021
  • AACRAO Awards
winner cups lay flat on bright background

Since 1959, AACRAO members have been recognized for their outstanding service through the Awards program. This year, we are proud to honor thirteen individuals from institutions around the country for their service to the profession, dedication to higher education, and commitment to our Association. Nominated by their peers and colleagues, these individuals exhibit the knowledge, skills, and disposition necessary to help the profession thrive. We thank them for their diligent work and commend them for driving the Association forward.

Emerging Leader Award

This award is presented to professionals who have, early in their AACRAO engagement, made an exceptional or unique contribution that demonstrates promise as a future AACRAO leader.

Soraira Urquiza - American Film Institute

Outstanding Mentor Award

This award recognizes a current AACRAO member for exceptional commitment and personal investment in the mentorship, guidance, and development of others.

Nora McLaughlin - Reed College

Monique Snowden - Fielding Graduate University

Honorary Membership

AACRAO’s highest honor, Honorary Membership, is awarded to retired or retiring members in recognition of a career of active involvement and contribution to AACRAO.

Jerald Bracken - Brigham Young University

Paul Kyle - Johnson County Community College

Mark McConahay - Indiana University Bloomington

Nora McLaughlin - Reed College

Jerry Montag - Northern Illinois University

Thomas A. Bilger Award

Named for a Past President of AACRAO, this award is presented to a member in recognition of consistent vision, service, and leadership in AACRAO with seven or more years of volunteer service.

Seth Kamen - University of Baltimore

Daniel Weber - Northeastern Illinois University

Janie Barnett Distinguished Service Award

Named in honor of a recently retired AACRAO Associate Executive Director, this award recognizes an active or retired AACRAO member for exceptional contributions over an extended period of time for service to AACRAO at the national level.

Kimra Schipporeit - University of Nebraska-Kearney

Elbert W. Ockerman State and Regional Professional Activity Award

This award recognizes outstanding professional activities of the state and regional associations and encourages development and expansion of quality professional activities.

Chesapeake and Potomac Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (CAPACRAO)

AACRAO Centennial Award for Excellence

Established in recognition of AACRAO's 2010 centennial celebration, this award is presented to an individual who is not an AACRAO member, but has contributed to the higher education community in a notable and positive manner that supports the vision and mission of AACRAO.

Allen Ezell - Federal Bureau of Investigation (retired)

Mark Hommerding - American Photo Marketing

Award winners will be formally recognized at the virtual 2021 (106th) Annual Meeting. If you would like to recognize the exceptional professional contributions of a colleague, you can learn more about the Awards program here.