Your bookmarked countries have an update since your last login. View Bookmarks x


There is 1 archived country study available. Log in to view them.



The Kingdom of Eswatini (Umbuso weSwatini), formerly known as Swaziland, is a land-locked country located in southern Africa and is bordered by South Africa and Mozambique. The population is 1,128,814 and the literacy rate is 81.6%. English and Swazi are the official languages.

There is evidence of human settlement in the area of present-day Eswatini dating back to the Stone Age. In the early 19th century, King Sobhuza I established the Swazi kingdom. In 1902, after the Second Boer War, Swaziland became a British protectorate and was awarded independence on September 6, 1968.


Education in Swaziland is overseen by the Ministry of Education and Training.

Primary and Secondary Education

Education is free and compulsory from ages 6 to 13. Primary school is 7 years beginning at age 6. Upon completion, students are awarded a Swaziland Primary School Certificate. Students also sit for an external examination to determine admission to junior secondary school upon completion of primary school. Junior secondary school is 3 years, and at the end of the 3rd year, students sit for an examination leading to the Junior Certificate. Upper secondary school is 2 years. At the end of the 2nd year, students sit for the General Certificate of Education Ordinary Level Certificate examination.

Post-Secondary Education

Post-secondary education is offered at the Swaziland College of Technology and the University of Swaziland. Both institutions require the General Certificate of Education Ordinary Level Certificate for admission. The Swaziland College of Technology offers 2-year programs in engineering that lead to a Diploma.

First Cycle

The University of Swaziland offers 3-year Diploma and 4-5-year bachelors programs.

Second and Third Cycles

Graduate programs are 2 years and require a bachelors degree in the appropriate field for admission. Upon successful defense of a dissertation, students are awarded a Masters degree. The University of Swaziland does not offer doctoral programs.

Teacher Training

Primary and lower secondary school teachers are trained at one of the 3 secondary-level teacher training colleges. Primary school teachers are trained in a 3-year program leading to the Primary Teacher's Certificate. This program requires a Junior Certificate for admission.

Lower secondary teachers are trained in a 3-year program leading to the Secondary Teacher's Certificate. This program requires a General Certificate of Education Ordinary Level Certificate for admission.

Upper secondary school teachers must hold a Bachelor of Education.



Upcoming AACRAO Events

Crises as Catalysts for Transformation

Fall 2020 | virtual conference

Join us this fall for a virtual Strategic Enrollment Management Conference - Crises as Catalysts for Transformation: 2020’s Impact on Higher Education and Enrollment.

This three day, virtual conference will feature models for adapting to change, meeting challenges, and planning strategically post-pandemic.

Explore the SEM Conference
SEM_2020_1440x400 update

106th AACRAO Annual Meeting

March 28 - 31, 2021 | National Harbor, MD

AACRAO’s Annual Meeting is our largest convening of higher education professionals from around the world. Join more than 2,000 administrators in person or online as we work to address the issues facing today’s campuses, share goals and guidelines for meeting those challenges, and provide a forum for learning and sharing experiences.

Explore the Annual Meeting