

# Draft Minutes of the 103<sup>rd</sup> Business Session of the Annual Meeting April 4, 2017 Minneapolis, Minnesota

#### 1. Call to Order

President Paul Kyle called the meeting to order.

### 2. President's Remarks

President Kyle summarized the work of the Association during his time as President.

### 3. Executive Director's Remarks

Executive Director Mike Reilly spoke on the state of the Association and provided updates about the AACRAO Office.

### 4. Introduction of Parliamentarian

President Kyle introduced Honorary Member Jeff von Munkwitz-Smith as Parliamentarian for the Business Session.

#### 5. Nominations and Elections Committee

Wayne Banks, Chair of the 2016-2017 Nominations and Elections Committee, reported on the Nominations and Elections Committee's activities over the last year.

Mr. Banks reported the following results of the elections for AACRAO leadership, held electronically during Fall 2016:

President-elect: Tina Falkner, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

Vice President for Admissions and Enrollment Management: Tammy Aagard, University of Florida

Vice President for Access and Equity: Tiffany Robinson, Western Kentucky University

Vice President for Information Technology: Mark McConahay was elected as for a three-year term beginning in 2017.

Mr. Banks also introduced the Nominations and Elections Committee for 2017-2018. Julia Pomerenk of Washington State University will serve as Chair and Jonathan Helm of Baylor University will serve as Vice-Chair. They were both elected electronically by the membership in the fall of 2015.

Tracey Jamison of the University System of Maryland was elected as Chair-elect, and Rebecca Mathern of Oregon State University was elected as Vice Chair-elect. The following individuals were elected as committee members and will serve one-year terms: Rob Hornberger of Missouri State University, Lenell Hahn of Southeast Missouri State University, Patricia Mathay of the University of Pittsburgh, Len Archer of Adventist University of Health Sciences, and Andrew Hannah of the University of Chicago.

Mr. Banks reviewed the timeline for nominations and elections in 2017.

President Kyle thanked Chair Wayne Banks and Vice Chair Richard Morrell for their outstanding work on behalf of the Association.

## 6. Approval of the 2016 Business Meeting Minutes

On behalf of the AACRAO Board of Directors, Vice President for Finance Jack Miner moved that the minutes from the Business Session of the 2016 Annual Meeting be approved.

The motion was seconded and then approved without dissent.

## 7. Finance and Proposed FY 2018 Budget

Vice President Miner provided a summary of AACRAO's 2016 fiscal year, and outlined goals for the 2017 fiscal year.

He then introduced the proposed FY 2018 budget, noting a dues increase of \$5 per member.

On behalf of the AACRAO Board of Directors, Vice President Miner moved that the proposed Fiscal Year 2018 budget be approved.

The motion was approved without dissent.

### 7. Recognition of Service

President Kyle recognized the following individuals for their outstanding service to the Association:

- Annual Meeting Volunteers and Co-Chairs of Volunteers Kelley Browning and Rhonda Kitch:
- The Program Committee Chair Tim Amyx and Vice-Chair Sarah Harris;
- The 2017 Annual Meeting Program Committee;
- Past President Dan García, Vice President for Access and Equity Monique Snowden, Vice President for Admissions and Enrollment Management Luke Schultheis, and Vice President for Information Technology Nicole Rovig.

### 8. Transition

President Kyle introduced Jim Bouse as the new AACRAO President for 2017-2018. President Bouse, in turn, recognized Past President Kyle's outstanding service as President during the 2016-2017 term.

### 9. 2017-2018 AACRAO President Comments

President Bouse made remarks outlining his goals for the continued growth and advancement of the Association.

President Bouse, Oregon State University, introduced the Board of Directors for 2017-2018:

- President-elect Tina Falkner, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
- Past President Paul Kyle, Johnson County Community College
- Vice President for Access and Equity Tiffany Robinson, Western Kentucky University
- Vice President for Admissions and Enrollment Management Tammy Aagard, University of Florida
- Vice President for Finance Jack Miner, Ohio State University
- Vice President for Information Technology Mark McConahay, Indiana University-Bloomington
- Vice President for International Education Jacquelyn Elliott, Marion Military Institute
- Vice President for Leadership and Management Development Meredith Braz, Dartmouth College
- Vice President for Records and Academic Services Lara Medley, Colorado School of Mines
- Vice President at Large Scott Dittman, Washington and Lee University
- Vice President at Large Jackie Carter, Washington University in St Louis

### 10. Venue for the 2018 Annual Meeting

Co-Chairs of the Annual Meeting Volunteers Aigi Adesogan, University of Florida, and Kathy Zemba extended an invitation to the 2018 Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida, by showing a video and offering salutary remarks.

### 11. Adjournment

President Jim Bouse gaveled the Business Session to adjournment.

### **Attachments**

2016 Business Session Minutes FY 2018 AACRAO Budget