

Minutes of the 104th Business Session of the Annual Meeting March 27, 2018 Orlando, Florida

1. Call to Order

President Jim Bouse called the meeting to order.

2. President's Remarks

President Bouse summarized the work of the Association during his time as President, including the increased use of workgroups, resources on new and trending topics, and a focus on strategic initiatives to help members grow professionally.

3. Executive Director's Remarks

Executive Director Mike Reilly spoke on the state of the Association and provided updates about the AACRAO Office, including the new office acquisition, a new platform for member services, and a new website.

4. Introduction of Parliamentarian

President Bouse introduced Honorary Member Jeff von Munkwitz-Smith as Parliamentarian for the 2018 Business Session.

5. Nominations and Elections Committee

Julia Pomerenk and Jonathan Helm, Chair and Vice Chair of the 2017-2018 Nominations and Elections Committee, reported on the Nominations and Elections Committee's activities over the last year.

Ms. Pomerenk reported the following results of the elections for AACRAO leadership, held electronically during Fall 2017:

President-elect: Luisa Havens, Virginia Tech

Vice President for International Education: Jennifer Minke, Texas A&M University - Kingsville

Vice President at Large: Rhonda Kitch, North Dakota State University

Vice President for Leadership and Management Development: Jerry Montag, Northern Illinois University

These individuals will all serve three year terms, ending at the Business Session of the 2021 Annual Meeting.

Ms. Pomerenk also introduced the Nominations and Elections Committee for 2018-2019. Tracey Jamison of University System of Maryland will serve as Chair and Rebecca Mathern of Oregon State University will serve as Vice-Chair. They were both elected electronically by the membership in the fall of 2016.

Tiffani Robertson of Governors State University was elected as Chair-elect, and Connie Shipman of the Campbell University School of Law was elected as Vice Chair-elect. The following individuals were elected as committee members and will serve one-year terms: Charlie Couch of the University of Northern Colorado, Susan Hamilton of Rutgers University, Richard Jimmerson of the University of Texas at Arlington, Rebecca Lothringer of the University of North Texas, and John Papinchak of Carnegie Mellon University.

Ms. Pomerenk reviewed the timeline for nominations and elections in 2018.

President Bouse thanked Chair Julia Pomerenk and Vice Chair Jonathan Helm for their outstanding work on behalf of the Association.

6. Approval of the 2017 Business Meeting Minutes

On behalf of the AACRAO Board of Directors, Vice President for Finance Jack Miner moved that the minutes from the Business Session of the 2017 Annual Meeting be approved.

The motion was approved without dissent.

7. Finance and Proposed FY 2019 Budget

Vice President Miner provided a summary of AACRAO's 2017 fiscal year, and outlined goals for the 2018 fiscal year.

He then introduced the proposed FY 2019 budget, noting a dues increase of \$5 per member.

On behalf of the AACRAO Board of Directors, Vice President Miner moved that the proposed Fiscal Year 2019 budget be approved.

The motion was approved without dissent.

7. Recognition of Service

President Bouse recognized the following individuals for their outstanding service to the Association:

- Annual Meeting Volunteers and Co-Chairs of Volunteers Aigi Adesogan and Kathy Zemba;
- The Program Committee Chair Sarah Harris and Vice-Chair Karee Head;
- The 2018 Annual Meeting Program Committee;

• Past-President Paul Kyle, Vice President for International Education Jacquelyn Elliott, Vice President at Large Scott Dittman, and Vice President for Leadership and Management Development Meredith Braz.

8. Transition

President Bouse introduced Tina Falkner as the new AACRAO President for 2018-2019. Now-President Falkner, in turn, recognized Past President Bouse's outstanding service as President during the 2017-2018 term.

9. 2018-2019 AACRAO President Comments

President Falkner made remarks outlining her goals for the continued growth and advancement of the Association, and highlighted the importance of soft skills in the profession.

President Falkner, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, introduced the Board of Directors for 2018-2019:

- President-elect Luisa Havens, Virginia Tech
- Past President Jim Bouse, University of Oregon
- Vice President for Access and Equity Tiffany Robinson, Western Kentucky University
- Vice President for Admissions and Enrollment Management Tammy Aagard, University of Florida
- Vice President for Finance Jack Miner, Ohio State University
- Vice President for Information Technology Mark McConahay, Indiana University-Bloomington
- Vice President for International Education Jennifer Minke, Texas A&M University-Kingsville
- Vice President for Leadership and Management Development Jerry Montag, Northern Illinois University
- Vice President for Records and Academic Services Lara Medley, Colorado School of Mines
- Vice President at Large Rhonda Kitch, North Dakota State University
- Vice President at Large Jackie Carter, Washington University in St Louis

10. Venue for the 2019 Annual Meeting

Co-Chairs of the Annual Meeting Volunteers Robert Morley and Matt Bemis, University of Southern California, extended an invitation to the 2019 Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, California by showing a video and offering salutary remarks.

11. Adjournment

President Tina Falkner gaveled the Business Session to adjournment.

Attachments

2017 Business Session Minutes, FY 2019 AACRAO Budget