TACRAO charts the course for student success

Greetings from Texas ACRAO (TACRAO)!

With fall upon us in Texas, we’re starting to get a few cooler days and night.  Our College Day/Night schedule is well under way with recruiters embarking upon the roads of Texas.  

Our association has completed work on our brand new membership software and website with Timberlake.  It’s been a lot of work converting our data and setting up our events for the year, but we feel the change has been be well worth the time and effort, given the flexibility with Timberlake and ease of use by our membership.  Check out our new page at www.tacrao.org.

The Local Arrangements Committee’s (LAC-2017) preparations are well underway for our annual meeting to be held at South Padre Island on November 5-8, 2017, where it’s always sunny and breezy.  Our host hotel is the Hilton Garden Inn with other hotels like the Pearl Hotel and Resort and the Schlitterbahn Resort offering accommodations as well.  The theme for our 96th annual meeting is “Charting the Course for Student Success.”  Our Vice Presidents have confirmed well over 100 session proposals.  Our confirmed guest speaker for the President’s Dinner is Jeff Kallay, the nationally respected authority on the emerging “experience economy” and the all-important campus visit experience. Jeff studies and presents about American generations with particular expertise on the current youth generation, the Homeland/GenZ and their GenX parents. He helps colleges and organizations understand generational differences and how to best connect with each unique peer group.

Our annual meeting is always a time to meets new members in higher education, renew friendships and just have a great time as we learn and develop in our profession together.

Thank you, AACRAO, for the opportunity to highlight the great state of Texas and the many folks who work with students enrolled in our institutions of higher education.  

Irene Montoya Robinson

TACRAO President

Registrar – Alvin Community College

TACRAO 2016-2017 Executive Committee (left to right):

Leticia Bazan, Vice President of Admissions – Texas A&M University at Corpus Christi

Andrea (Andi) Liner, Vice President of Records/Registration – Blinn College

Joe Papari, President-Elect – Southern Methodist University

Irene Montoya Robinson, President – Alvin Community College

Darla Inglish, Immediate Past President – Midwestern State University

Michelle Walker, Secretary – Texas A&M University

Jeremy Dorman, Treasurer – Panola College