113th Congress Convenes, New Members Sworn In

113th Congress Convenes, New Members Sworn In

January 03, 2013

Today, the 113th U.S. Congress convenes and new members will be sworn into office, reports the Washington Post.

The makeup of the House and Senate education committees will be altered in the new Congress. The House Committee on Education and the Workforce gains three new Republican members “ Susan Brooks and Luke Messer, both of Indiana, and Richard Hudson of North Carolina. The Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee will also add three newly-elected Democratic members to their ranks: Senators-elect Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin, Christopher Murphy of Connecticut, and Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts.

The leadership of the House and Senate education committees will remain very much the same, though. John Kline (R-MN) will return as chairman of the House education and workforce committee, while Virginia Foxx (R-NC) will remain chairwoman of the subcommittee on higher education. Additionally, Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA) will remain chairman of the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions in the next Congress, according to his announcement last month.

"I intend to move forward with bills to ensure that all Americans are able to achieve the promise of a quality education “ beginning in early childhood, continuing through elementary and high school, and culminating with higher education," Harkin said in a statement.


Related Links:

The Washington Post


Committee Assignments for 113th Congress Approved By Democratic Steering Committee


Statement of Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA) on His Decision to Remain Chairman of the HELP Committee


Michelle Cormier Mott

Government Relations